Dear Friends

3 Feb

In summer I found myself at South Bank day after day watching the Charlie Chaplin impersonator there. He is absolutly brilliant. And I’m sure he thought I was very strange. Anyway, I was trying to work out why I was so facinated by him and by Chaplin himself as I started to watch his films for the first time. As I thought about it I realised that it was the character of the Fool that appealed to me. The Fool that “feels too much, talks too much, takes too many chances, wins sometimes and loses often, lacks self control, loves and hates, hurts and gets hurt, promises and breaks promises, laughs and cries” (I don’t know who said that but I think its great). The Fool feels like the extreme opposite of how I so often feel. Constrained by expectations, real of imagined, mine or someone elses.Struggling with social anxiety and feeling unable to take risks. So, in the interests of grabbing hold of the opportunities that life presents, I’m learning to be a Fool.

As part of this foolish plan I am going to try to make some money from art and in particular, printing cards and t-shirts. I know I can do it. I’ve got the skills and the patience. Its just that I need that kick up the bum that only being a complete Fool can provide. Inspired by the words of a famous clown “We can’t start perfectly and beautifully. Don’t be afraid of being a Fool; Start as a Fool” thats exactly what I’ve done. I’ve started up Fool’s Prints in less than perfect conditions and with nothing but hope and one screen printing frame.

So far I’ve made an impressive spreadsheet to keep an eye on all things going out and coming in, made £20 from my first custom designed t-shirt, printed 40 new year cards, and come up with an ambitious birthday card design that I’m about to print.

I therefore offer all these services to you. If you or anyone you know wants some t-shirts, greetings cards or post cards printed just get in touch. 5% of income from t-shirts will be sent to The National Garment Workers Federation in Bangladesh who are fighting for the rights of garment workers. If I sell enough t-shirts I aim to raise it to 10% or higher if I can.

Lastly, you can invest in this foolish enterprise in several ways, 1) by unleasing the Fool in your own heart and just going for it…whatever the ‘it’ is in your case, even though it feels like a massive risk, 2) by thinking of t-shirts and their potential more (as birthday presents, for protests, for any reason, custom designed so ANYTHING you want) 3) if you feel like investing in my foolishness even more and you feel you can spare it, you could try invest financially. Any pennies you might invest will be documented thoroughly on my amazing spreadsheet and find their way back to you as soon as I get up and running and start breaking even.

So there we are. 2010- the year of the Fool.

Lots of love

S

Leave a Reply

