Inspired by Emma Goldman

20 Feb

I have been asked to print t-shirts with the famous Emma Goldman quote ‘If I can’t dance then it’s not my revolution’. Emma Goldman (here’s a pic), for those that don’t know, was an awsome anarchist feminist of the 1800s. A real inspiration. Read more about her on wikipedia.

As soon as they’re done I’ll post them up here for all to see!

Emma Goldman’s autobiography has been a massive inspiration to me. Here are some more of her words of wisdom;

“No great idea in its beginning can ever be within the law. How can it be within the law? The law is stationary. The law is fixed. The law is a chariot wheel which binds us all regardless of conditions or place or time.”

“If voting changed anything, they’d make it illegal.”

“The history of progress is written in the blood of men and women who have dared to espouse an unpopular cause, as, for instance, the black man’s right to his body, or woman’s right to her soul.”

Also, there are still some birthday cards available.

2 Responses to “Inspired by Emma Goldman”

  1. annelise March 3, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    all great quotes, but I am particularly enamored of the first!

    • foolsprints March 3, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      Yeah me too. Thing is I don’t think it’s a direct quotation but the jist is there. I often wonder what Emma G’s dancing was like…must have been quite something. Or manybe I just underestimate how socially conservative and sexist the anarchist movement was back then. Interesting

Leave a Reply

