Fighting the cuts in London

2 Sep

The Hackney Alliance to Defend Public Services is a new group set up in response to cuts that are already underway and others expected in the near future. The Alliance will fight to fend off these economic attacks on the local community. Keep an eye on their website for news of upcoming meetings and demonstrations.

The group decided that they wanted a banner but doubted that a homemade one would cut it. Last week my housemates, my neighbours and I got to work using our years of banner making experience. Said banner, when finished and shown to the group received a cheer! Here’s to DIY.

Yesterday morning I was at my first Open Access session at East London Printmakers’ Studios, just off Mare Street. I had lots in my mind to do, what with a poster for Feminist Fightback’s October conference in the pipeline as well as t-shirts being donated to my friend Husna’s charity event in aid of the Pakistani flood victims. It turned out, however, that the induction to the workshop space lasted the full 4 hours, which limited my plans a lot.

Anyway, here is the poster for the Feminist Fightback conference (without the originally planned colour). Reto screen print was the briefing so I went for a collage effect.

If you are interested in coming along to this event, keep an eye on the Feminist Fightback website for further news on a venue.

In other news, me and the housemates are getting stuck into some DIY. We’ve removed some cupboards and now we are painting. After a year of dinge and disrepair we have taken matters into our own hands.

One Response to “Fighting the cuts in London”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fool’s Prints 1 year on « Fool's Prints - January 2, 2011

    […] saw a renewed burst of printing energy and skill. I make my first leaflet design, printed t-shirts for charity in aid of the flood victims in Pakistan, and created a new birthday […]

Leave a Reply

