Handmade memories

30 Oct

In the last few months I have been getting stuck into book making using the fantastic new skills I gained at the Book Arts Course at The Art Academy. I’d really recommend the course if you want an overview of different book making techniques, whether you have made a book before or not.

One of the skills I learned was a beautiful single sheet coptic technique, which is fantastic for binding thick pages. One of the best uses for this is binding photographs into albums.

In August I finished my job working 1:1 with a young person with Aspergers Syndrom who is out of school. After two years or working together we’d shared some fun times. I pulled together all the pictures I’d taken, prepared some covers and created a photo book.

 

I was really pleased when I gave this handmade gift to the young person I worked with and her mum asked me where I had bought it.

I then had the opportunity to do what I really enjoy, share what I’ve learned. I worked with a close friend of mine to make a memory book of her friend’s wedding…but I can’t show you pictures yet as she hasn’t yet given the book to her friend.

If you have got some photos that you’d like to bind into a memory book, you’d like some help and you live in London, get in touch!

2 Responses to “Handmade memories”

  1. Kate January 10, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

    Hi,im currently putting together a memory book and need help. Can you kindly assist?

    • foolsprints January 11, 2013 at 11:37 am #

      Hi Kate,

      Thanks for your message. What sort of book are you making? Do you want to email me about it: fools.prints(at)yahoo.co.uk

      🙂

Leave a Reply

